William Randolph Hearst had his magnificent monstrosity built by architect Julia Morgan between the years of 1919-1945. Here are a few facts about the house that overlooks (or rather, overtakes) San Simeon that you might not know.
|STRUCTURE||SQUARE FEET||BEDROOMS||FIREPLACES||BATHROOMS||SITTING ROOMS|
|Casa Del Mar||5,350||8||5||6||1|
|Casa Del Monte||2,550||4||3||4||1|
|Casa Del Sol||3,620||8||3||8||2|
GUEST HOUSES OF HEARST CASTLE
There are a total of 46 rooms in the Guest Houses including lobbies.
There are several additional rooms in Casa Grande including the Refectory, the Billiard Room, the Theater, Library, Gothic Study, Beauty Salon, Butler’s Pantry, Kitchen, Staff Dining Room for a total of 115 rooms in Casa Grande.
OUTDOOR NEPTUNE POOL
Holds 345,000 gallons of water Depth from 3.5 feet to 10 feet deep; 6 feet in alcove
INDOOR ROMAN POOL
Holds 205,000 gallons of water Depth is 10 feet deep; 4 feet in alcove
The Castle’s history begins in 1865, when George Hearst purchased 40,000 acres of ranchland. In 1919,William Randolph inherited what had grown to more than 250,000 acres, and was dreaming of ways to transform it into a retreat he called La Cuesta Encantada—Spanish for “Enchanted Hill.” By 1947, Hearst and architect Julia Morgan had created Hearst Castle: 165 rooms and 127 acres of gardens, terraces, pools and walkways—all built to house Hearst’s specifications and to showcase his legendary art collection.